Ethnic Minorities are defined as:



A U.S. citizen having origins in any of the Black racial groups of Sub-Sahara Africa. These countries include the following:

Angola; Benin; Botswana; Burkina-Faso; Burundi; Cameroon; Cape Verde; Central African Republic; Chad; Comoros; Democratic Republic of Congo; Cote d’lvoire; Djibouti; Equatorial Guinea; Eritrea; Ethiopia; Gabon; Gambia; Ghana; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Kenya; Lesotho; Liberia; Madagascar; Malawi; Mali; Mauritania; Mauritius; Mozambique; Namibia; Niger; Nigeria; Rwanda; Sao Tome & Principe; Senegal; Seychelles; Sierra Leone; Somalia; South Africa; Swaziland; Tanzania; Togo; Uganda; Western Sahara; Zambia; and Zimbabwe.

Caribbean natives of African descent and Brazilians (Afro-Brazilian, indigenous/Indian only) are also eligible.



A U.S. citizen of true-born Latin heritage from any of the Spanish-speaking areas of Latin America or the following regions: Mexico, Central America, South America and the Caribbean basin only. Brazilians (Afro-Brazilian, indigenous/Indian only) shall be listed under Hispanic designation for review and certification purposes.



A person who is an American Indian, Inuit, Aleut or Native Hawaiian, and regarded as such by the community of which the person claims to be a part.

Native Americans must be documented members of a North American tribe, band or otherwise organized group of native people who ware indigenous to the United States and proof can be provided through a Native American Blood Degree Certificate.



A U.S. citizen whose origins are from the Asian/Pacific Islander region. These countries include the following:

Bangladesh; Cambodia; China; Guam; India; Indonesia; Japan; Korea; Laos; Malaysian; Nepal; Pakistan; the Philippines; Samoa; Sri Lanka; Thailand; Tibet; Taiwan; the U.S. Trust Territories of the Pacific or the Northern Marianas; and, Vietnam